Let me explain. No, there is too much. Let me sum up.

Gah, my last entry here was really October? October? Okay, clearly I’ve got some catching up to do.

In November, my job search finally ended with a couple of great offers and my choice to go work as web content editor for the Jewish Women’s Archive in Boston. (Which was especially nice because my first day of work was three days before my 35th birthday, which meant I spent my birthday living my life rather than wondering where my life is going.) The people are really lovely, and the work is what I had hoped for: I’m doing a lot of different types of writing and editing, everything from blogs to grants, trying to write compellingly for very different audiences.

The job has meant moving to Boston and learning a new city. My apartment is beautiful: an old house cut up into apartments, which means old hardwood floors, two fireplaces, and windows all around. While I do wish I had moved in a season with more warmth and light to encourage more exploration, I’m still getting out to discover all the treats of Coolidge Corner and Harvard Square. Funniest moment was when a new friend introduced me to the Harvard Coop, which I had assumed was a food co-op. Instead, I open the doors and blurt out, “No one told me there werebooks in here!” It’s one of the most beautiful and well-stocked bookstores I’ve ever been in, and I think it is very quickly going to become a favorite mecca.

And, of course, living in Boston has other advantages: my mom and brother work here, and I’m close to my aunt, uncle, and ten of my cousins, including mabfan, gnomi, and their children.

With everything going on, I haven’t had much time or inclination to write, but as I settle in, I’m hoping that will change. I think this is going to be a really wonderful chapter in my life.

Leave a Reply

