Reading new things and old favorites

I was talking to someone today about whether they buy books new or used, from Amazon or real bookstores, and I’m curious what other people’s habits are. Here are mine:

Books written by friends: Buy in hardcover from an indie bookseller, preferably on launch day.
Books in series I’m already reading: Buy new from bookstore, preferably on launch day.
Books that have been recommended to me: Read in bookstore. If I like it enough to finish it, buy the copy I was reading.
Classics I’ve been meaning to read: Buy used.
Books that are overpriced: Buy from Amazon. (Only if it costs at least $10 more than other books of that type.)

I also try and pick up used copies of the first book in any series I like as a “loaner” copy: I can use it to addict friends to the series without worrying if they’ll damage or keep my favorite book.

What about you guys? Any patterns to your book buying?

Leave a Reply

