Mucking about with legends

A couple of years ago I kept saying to people that vampires and werewolves were getting played out and were probably going to rest for a few years (King Arthur gets very popular every ten years and then goes back to sleep, like clockwork), and that I thought the next big thing was going to be fairies. I totally missed the zombie thing in between, but here we are, with Grimm and Once Upon a Time and various novels about the fey.

Which is good for me, because I really like the fey and I’m looking forward to playing in that sandbox for a few years before it gets worn out too and needs a nap. As far as I’m concerned, fey stories are ultimately family stories: most humans in fairy tales are either married to fey, raising changelings, or have some fey blood themselves; plus there are unwritten rules that everyone has to follow and history from ages ago that still plays itself out in every argument, every reunion. I love me some good family drama.

But I feel strongly that if you’re going to play with a major myth, you had better damn well bring something new to the table, something that enriches the legend, or you’re just retreading old ground. And I think I’ve got it: I’ve decided my take on it is going to deal with why time in Faerie goes at such different rates; sometimes faster, sometimes slower, and make that crucial to the climax of my story.

Leave a Reply

