Nano, week 2

Week two, the demons came out to play. I spent most of the week sick with some kind of virus, unable to focus enough to write much, and on the remaining days I had to pound out the word count to stay on track and try and build up a little buffer for birthday/Thanksgiving, when I really want to spend my time with the people I love. And when you have to work fast, you tend to stick to what you know. So my subconscious, in looking for complications for my main character, started pulling out some of the darker chapters of my life, and when I realized this, I realized that in order to make it believable and keep my main character sympathetic, I had to show what was so appealing about that situation, why a reasonable person would stay when they were that unhappy. Trying to balance between those two points authentically, showing the problems and building the tension while still showing the appeal, made for some very dark days.

And now, going into week three, I have the opposite problem. My character has earned herself a respite where she gets to try building something healthy (which will then be threatened by the situation she’s running from), and I don’t know what that looks like for her. I have to show her succeeding at things I’m still struggling with, and I’m not entirely sure how to do that authentically. I’m really curious to see what emerges.

Leave a Reply

