Within the machine

Cross-posted on Facebook:

Today I got to stand inside the guts of a printing machine and watch the ink dancing up the rollers. I saw rivers of paper flying overhead, becoming busy with words, chopped into softly falling pages that got folded into books, notched and glued and sewn. I saw books that were literally hot off the presses spiral up an endless tower to give them time to cool before the rough edges could be cut. I saw machines doing things I hadn’t thought were possible and people doing things carefully by hand that I had always assumed were done by machines. Awesome, awesome road trip.

Leave a Reply

