Paying attention

In the parking lot outside the gym, all the trees that have been flowering for the past two weeks have started putting out leaves. They’re also, mysteriously, hung with what look like single strands of spiderwebs, clotted here and there with falling white petals, shifting in the breeze, impossible to avoid. As I brush up against the surprisingly strong strands, a tiny green inchworm detaches himself and clings to my arm tenaciously. He seems more distressed about being on my arm than being caught in the web, and as I finally shift him off me, I realize, “Oh. These are mulberry trees. This is what a silkworm looks like in the wild.” And suddenly what seemed creepy and in my way becomes fascinating, even miraculous.

Leave a Reply

