Richard III

I so don’t want to do my short story today; I just want to skip it and go straight to Shakespeare. I’m leading a discussion on Richard III and doing a paper comparing his sibling issues to Henry V’s, and I really want to start the discussion by pointing out that trying to understand Richard III by reading Henry VII’s chroniclers is a little like trying to understand Obama by watching Fox News. Of course, I’ve always had a soft spot for British bad boys; one of my favorite quotes is Anthony Blunt’s lawyer saying that Blunt couldn’t sue a newspaper for making outrageous claims because a libel suit would require he still had a good name left to tarnish.

Leave a Reply

