The Twilight Barnes and Noble

My favorite thing to do on weekends is go to Barnes and Noble, alone or with a friend, and park myself there for hours with a stack of books. So with a six-day weekend, of course I spent days there. (Yes, yes, I did other stuff as well.)

So on Sunday, I’m sitting there, and this guy asks if he can photograph me while I read. Then yesterday, I’m just sitting there, and one person after another strikes up hour-long conversations with me about race, Jane Austen, graduate school. And part of me’s thinking, “These are interesting people; I’m so glad I came here!” But part of me’s thinking, “This is weird. But awesome. I’ve got some serious mojo going on. *pause* Why the hell doesn’t stuff like this happen when I’m around nice Jewish men?”

Leave a Reply

