Artses! And life changes, not mine.

My landlord has this thing where, instead of using our mailboxes, he hand delivers our mail with a gentle knock at our doorsteps. So I came home from work on Friday and sort of blinked in confusion at the oddly shaped envelope resting against my door with the rest of my mail. “Gee, that looks important. I wonder what… oh, yeahhhh!” And so I eagerly tore open the envelope to find the art I had bought from glockgal‘s art sale had arrived, and looked even prettier in person than it had as a digital image! I am so framing this.

In other art news, I got a serious ton of drawing done while sitting at the Seminary graduation. The day was kind of a balancing act, because I had to take minutes at a board meeting at the exact moment that my dad was conferring a blessing on a dear friend of mine, but my boss generously let me duck out of the meeting and took minutes for me so I could watch my friend burst into tears of joy. I’m so glad I got to be there at that moment. And then in the afternoon, like I said, I shivered under the tent and sketched as the various arms of the school conferred degrees and gave speeches (the cantors gave a choral performance).

But the rabbinic class speaker really blew me away. He said that their class started the year of 9/11, and their rabbinic training had been marked by fighting in Israel, Jordan, Iraq, Afghanistan and here at home, such terrible violence over ideology. How do you hear the still, small voice of God amidst such thunder and lightning? Do you shout to be heard over it? And he said he found the answer in the deliberations of the Law Committee this year over the question of homosexuality. The authors of the opposing papers were their teachers, and although the authors argued passionately and convincingly for their points and vehemently opposed the other side, they never said their students shouldn’t study with or listen to those the authors disagreed with. That mixture of passion and respect for the other side is what he feels his class has learned to bring with them into their future careers. His wisdom just blew me away.

Leave a Reply

