Lukewarm, but squee-worthy

Yesterday seems to have been a red-banner day for friends of mine! My friend Susan, who is taking a year off to write, got her first Alas. We squeed joyfully over it, although at one point she said, “I’m going to have trouble explaining to people why I’m excited about a rejection letter.” I said, “No, think about it this way. One of his assistants was so completely blown away by your story that he just had to show it to his boss.” I’m really proud of her, and I think she’s gonna get her foot in the door soon.

On another front, my writing teacher’s new play just got written up in the Times! It’s a lukewarm review, but the criticisms were very fair, I thought (although I thought it had more emotional strength than the reviewer believed).

I’m just so happy for them both.

Leave a Reply

