Iphigenia

Went to the opening night of a play last night, adapted by my wonderfully talented friend Emily, and had a splendid time. There were a couple of points that felt uneven to me, but overall, just amazing. The play used music, modern dance and martial arts katas to emphasize the drama, and I’ve never seen a trash-talking Greek chorus before, so that was a real delight. The actors playing Agamemnon and Clytemnestra were fantastic, and while the actress playing the title role was a bit too fake as an ingenue in the beginning, she more than made up for it with the goosepimples she gave me with her final scenes.

Emily’s dad and step-mom were there too, and it was great to catch up with them. I hadn’t seen them since Emily’s reading a while back, so I joked to Emily that clearly she needs to accomplish more amazing things so I can see her relatives more often.

All in all, a really fine evening.

Leave a Reply

