My good deed for the week

Desperate for a mocha on the way home, I ended up stopping at the 86th St. Barnes and Noble last night and grabbed the only available seat, next to a frazzled-looking girl arguing on a cell phone. She apologized to me once she hung up, saying she was stressed about a grad school exam for journalism, heavy on the essays. I mentioned that I’d just taken a GRE course with a great essay section, and ended up spending an hour and a half walking her through one mock essay after another, calming her down and trying to get her to absorb the basic structure instead of just tackling each thesis on its own, so she’d have that flexibility for the test. Definitely not how I planned to spend my evening, but I hope it helps her get in!

Leave a Reply

