Independent thought

So I’m editing this book on the evolutionary nature of Jewish law, chock-full of primary source material, and in the chapter on the late 20th century is the first article my dad ever wrote, three years before I was born. And I’m realizing that critical concepts I take for granted about the way the world works, or that I use to inform my choices and practices, are articulated almost word-for-word in this article.

I’m not sure which is more unnerving, realizing that ideas I thought were my own informed opinion instead show how much I’m a product of my upbringing, or realizing that I’ve spent twenty-six years reinventing a wheel that’s been standing in my living room.

Leave a Reply

