Who’s on first?

So I treated myself to a movie last night, which, considering New York prices, is a pretty extravagant evening out, but I really wanted to see Brothers Grimm.

I wish I hadn’t. I really wish I hadn’t. It’s only the second movie I’ve ever walked out of in my life (the first being Lara Croft. Nuff said.). Imagine if someone remade The Frighteners with no heart, no good jokes, lots of male bashing, and worse CGI, and you’ve got an idea of Grimm. (Understand, I like The Frighteners, but it’s the only thing I could think of with a similar plot.

So having paid $11 for a movie I couldn’t bear to watch, I did something I rarely do and snuck into one of the other theaters in the multiplex for a show that was just starting. The Aristocrats, which, as a documentary about comedians, wasn’t high on my list of things to see in theaters. But I laughed so hard I think I coughed up a lung, and I’m definitely going back and bringing friends.

Basically, the documentary is about a joke comedians only tell amongst themselves at parties, not generally in their routines, where the structure of the joke is very simple and not-funny, but the humor comes from the embellishments each comedian adds to it. Understand, the base of this joke is scat, incest and bestiality, so if you have delicate sensibilities, you might want to pass, but what’s amazing is watching eighty comedians from Carol Channing to Drew Carey try to tell this awful joke, each completely different. I think the best was Bob Sagat’s, but the fact that they had a South Park version and several street performers doing this joke should give you an idea of the bloody incredible range of this thing. Gah.

Go see it. Go see it often.

Leave a Reply

