Grosse Pointe

College reunion party this weekend, real glass-half-full sort of thing. The invites didn’t say anything about attire, and I figured, “Hey, it’s Bard,” so I wore jeans and a nice top, only to arrive at a black tie, members only club rented out for the night. Maybe three people from my age group were there, aside from that it was professors I didn’t know and aging alums in tuxes and crinoline. (The one professor I had taken a single class with didn’t remember me until I said, “I was the one who tortured you with science fiction you didn’t read!” Then it all came back;) And whoever heard of a stuffy members only club without wheelchair access? One would think that’s where it’s needed most! So John had a hard time getting in.

But on the other hand, it was $5 for a chance to spend three hours hanging out with Susan and John and eat yummy hors doeuvres. And hey, saw Ninja, too, and Ninja had a two year old in tow! (Yes, I know someone named Ninja.)

Got absolutely no work done on any of the stories I’m working on, grrr, but saw House of Flying Daggers with Teresa. It was good, not as good as Hero. Chinese cinema should stay away from love stories, IMO; it’s not what they do best. They’re good at how one individual’s choices affect society, but they’re not so good at emotional landscape for its own sake.

And hey, Gargoyles Season 1 arrived! Good stuff. I’d forgotten just how good and how dark the show was, and the backgrounds were illustrated in Japan, which means such an accurate depiction of New York that you can tell when they’re at the Cloisters or which part of Central Park they’re landing in before they mention it. The character animation, though, was a little weird; it’s clear that they were still figuring out character design for episodes 1-6. Faces look different from frame to frame, and the shading is odd. But after that they really get their game on, and the body movement is really fluid, something I miss when I see children’s cartoons these days. And my favorite lost ep was there, the gun control ep. I never understood why Disney censored something that might actually have done some good.

And now back to the insanity of the work week!

Leave a Reply

