Victory is mine!

Woo hoo! Published again! I just got an email from Abyss and Apex e-zine with a contract to publish my story, “The Barrow Man.” It’s my take on the whole Death-takes-an-apprentice shtick, except the apprentice in this case is a midwife. I really, really like this story, and it brought in all sorts of cool research of midwifery and medieval apprenticeship contracts, so I’m overjoyed that a publisher finally agrees with me that it rocks.

Sukkot was really lovely; my mom made her special plum tart, and we had rugelach and eggplant parmesan and all sorts of goodies, and played lots of Scrabble and spades and all the other lovely things we do as a family. Lots of socializing with guests, but lots of family time, too. You’d think, with both my parents teaching in New York every week lately, I’d have had my fill of family, but there’s something very different about being home together, being at rest together.

And hey, Tuesday night is fight night! Who all’s watching the debates? NPR was having a blast yesterday, recapping all these great moments from past VP debates, including Bentsen’s famous zinger, “Senator, I served with Jack Kennedy. I knew Jack Kennedy. Jack Kennedy was a friend of mine. Senator, you’re no Jack Kennedy.” Should be interesting.

Leave a Reply

