Yeee!

Excerpted from the Tangent Online review of my story “Kaddish”: “It’s a surprisingly sad story, especially to an old atheist like myself. It is, as far as I know, untilled ground, horror primarily feeding off of Catholic catechism and superstition, the Jewish angle being very refreshing without overbearing the deeper story of love.”

Very happy with this, because it was exactly what I was aiming for. One of the things that got me into writing Jewish science fiction in the first place was reading the Wandering Stars anthology, which disappointed me because every story revolved around the question of “Who is a Jew?” with the answer being, “Anyone who wants to be one.” I felt frustrated because there is (or there should be) so much more to Judaism than who is in or out. I’m sure Catholics feel the same way when they read stories dependent on the tired old convention of a criminal who confesses to a priest, thus forcing the priest to remain silent.

In other news, totally forgot to mention what I did for the 4th. Got a last-minute invite to Susan and John’s place to watch fireworks though their enormous window. Enjoyed spending time with their other friends, too; one of them’s the kind of guy you can get into a really great argument with, someone who will take it to the mat every time, but who listens when you’re making a point and doesn’t let you interrupt until he’s finished making his point. Good stuff. We feasted on patriotic food, and I didn’t get home until 1:30 in the morning.

Leave a Reply

