When I was your age

When I was a kid, there was something called a Marvel no-prize. Marvel comics teasingly offered them to people who offered plausible explanations for plot holes, or who did something noble and comics-related, like donating comics to a hospital. I’m sure they stopped doing that years ago, but it stuck with me, and when I had to winnow a lot of my stuff recently, I called up a local hospital and said, “I’ve got about a hundred comics I want to donate to the pediatrics wing. Do you want them?” Their answer? “Sorry, none of our kids read. They’re all into video games.”

Leave a Reply

