I love the internet

So I go to Blockbuster to rent a season of QAF because I feel like kicking back for a marathon today, only when I get them home, it turns out the DVDs won’t play in my player. Grr. So I go online, don’t like the download rates, go on Ebay, and half an hour after I first went to Blockbuster I’ve bought shrink-wrapped VHS box sets of seasons 1 and 2 for less than the rental fees would have been.

I don’t know which is more amazing about the internet and its impact on our lives: the fact that you can get nearly anything you want online or the fact that we take it for granted that anything we want is obtainable through the internet. And the converse of that mentality: if it’s not online, you must not want it. There have been a couple of times when I stopped researching a topic or didn’t buy a product because I couldn’t find it online and didn’t know where to start looking in the real world. I know people a couple of years behind me in school who had no idea what the Dewey decimal system was because they never had to look anything up in a library.

Leave a Reply

