Signal Fires

So I get to the office today, and before I start work, I check my friends’ livejournals and blogs, my friendster account, and both my email accounts. (Let’s not even get into the webcomics I check every day.) Since my RL friends are scattered across a half-dozen different flavors of internet services, there’s no way to streamline the process. Then I quickly read a few pages of a book, because I knew I wasn’t going to have time tonight — too many social obligations.

When I was a kid, I always lived in my head more than I lived in the real world. Adults would comment that I had a rich inner life. I mean, I had friends, and I loved riding my bike or climbing trees or playing pretend with them, but if you stuck me in a room with books and drawing paper or even a blank wall to stare at, I would have been happy as a clam. But now, I’d say for the past year, I’ve had desperate need of a calendar to keep track of when and where I’m meeting which friend. It’s crept up so subtly that I can’t put my finger on when things changed. I spend most of my free time with other people, not in my head. And, maybe most surprising, I like it that way.

Has this happened to you guys? Were you happier playing alone as kids but more social as adults?

Leave a Reply

